Lazarus Awakening by Joanna Weaver

Lazarus-AwakeningLazarus Awakening
Finding Your Place in the Heart of God

Getting God’s Love from Our Heads to Our Hearts

We all know Jesus loved Mary – look how she worshiped. And we can understand why He loved Martha – after all, look how she served. But what about those of us who don’t know where we fit in the heart of God?

For many of us, moving the truth of God’s love from our heads to our hearts is a lifelong process. As we consider our inadequacies or grieve our shattered dreams, we find it difficult to believe that God cares for us personally.

In this life-giving book, Joanna Weaver shows you how to embrace the truth that Jesus loves you apart from anything you accomplish, apart from anything you bring. Just as He called Lazarus forth to new life, Jesus wants to free you to live fully in the light of His love, unbound from the graveclothes of fear, regret, and self-condemnation.

Combining unforgettable real-life illustrations with unexpected biblical insights, Lazarus Awakening invites you to experience a spiritual resurrection that will forever change your understanding of what it means to be the one Jesus loves.

My Review

There is so much in this book, its going to be difficult to put it all here, so I will just highlight a few of the things I have learned here. As with her other Bible studies, Joanna Weaver goes above and beyond, writing a Bible Study book that will change your way of thinking, changing your way of living, and well, just change your life altogether.  This study on Lazarus takes us back to the story in the Bible of Lazarus, we have all heard it before, and I have to say, it is one of my favorite Bible stories. But now I see this story in an entirely different light. Applying the principles of this story to my everyday life showed me things in my life that are dormant, totally away from the way God wants me to live. A couple of sentences in the bonus chapter of this book sums it up pretty good for me. It says, “Though our spirits have been fully resurrected by Christ, and we’ve been born again, remnants of our flesh still linger. Loose ends of our lower nature dangle around our lives, threatening to trip us up in our walk with God.” As I thought our that loose flesh dangling around, it made me sick, just at the thoughts of it. Yet this is what I have been letting happen. I want to do more studying in this series, with the DVD that goes with it, to further learn what God wants me to do. And this is an amazing Bible study to do that! Thanks to the amazing Ms. Weaver, we can get help in our walk as a Christian.

I received a copy of this book from Blogging for Books to read and review. And to give my honest opinion of the book.  The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 55

Joanna Weaver

Joanna Weaver

Joanna Weaver is the best-selling author of Having a Mary Heart in a Martha World, Having a Mary Spirit, Lazarus Awakening, and the award-winning gift book With This Ring. Her articles have appeared in such publications as Focus on the Family, Guideposts, and HomeLife. Joanna and her pastor-husband, John, have three children and live in Montana. Visit her website at http://www.JoannaWeaverBooks.com.

– See more at: http://waterbrookmultnomah.com/author-spotlight.php?authorid=32622#sthash.1uaM31tR.dpuf

Leave a Reply

