Wallflower In Bloom

Wallflower In Bloom

by Claire Cook

About this book

From the acclaimed bestselling author of Must Love Dogs comes a winning and witty new novel about a woman who emerges from the shadow of her overbearing family and finds herself “dancing with the stars.”

Deirdre Griffin has a great life; it’s just not her own. She’s the around-the-clock personal assistant to her charismatic, high-maintenance, New Age guru brother, Tag. As the family wallflower, her only worth seems to be as gatekeeper to Tag at his New England seaside compound.

Then Deirdre’s sometime boyfriend informs her that he is marrying another woman, who just happens to be having the baby he told Deirdre he never wanted. While drowning her sorrows in Tag’s expensive vodka, Deirdre decides to use his massive online following to get herself voted on as a last-minute Dancing with the Stars replacement. It’ll get her back in shape, mentally and physically. It might even get her a life of her own. Deirdre’s fifteen minutes of fame have begun.

Irresistible and offbeat, Wallflower in Bloom is an original and deeply satisfying story of having the courage to take a leap into the spotlight, no matter where you land.

My Review of this book

Wallflower In Bloom turned out to be a really good, fun and funny summer read, well at times it is just plain out hilarious. Deidre is a fun character that breaks out on her own, away from her brother and sister and makes a go of life on her own. I enjoyed the dancing with the stars journey she takes, and it sure makes her a true wildflower that blooms and the story unfolds around her.

This is my first book of author Clarie Cook, and I really enjoyed her quirky and fun writing style. Wallflower in Bloom is well written, interesting and a story that will stay with you for a while. If you enjoy contemporary fiction, stories written in the current era of America that we now live in, you will enjoy this story very much! Or if this sounds like something fun that you would like, grab a copy to read and enjoy for yourself!

This book was provided by Touchtone books for me to read and review. The opinions here in this review are mine only.

About the Author

I wrote my first novel in my minivan when I was 45. At 50, I walked the red
carpet at the Hollywood premiere of the adaptation of my second novel, Must Love
Dogs, starring Diane Lane and John Cusack. I’m now the bestselling author of 9
novels, and I can’t wait till you read my latest, WALLFLOWER IN
BLOOM!

Visit http://ClaireCook.com, where you can read excerpts of all my
novels and find book club questions. And make sure you check out my writing and
reinvention pages, where I share everything I’ve learned so far.

Leave a Reply

