Treasuring Emma by Kathleen Fuller

Treasuring Emma by Kathleen Fuller

In this first book of the series, Emma Shelter and her grossmammi are struggling living in the family home after Emma’s mamm dies of cancer. Emma’s sister Clara’s husband Peter doesn’t have a job, so Clara is trying to talk Emma into opening up a fabric and yarn shop in their grossvadder’s workshop.

Emma’s once love Adam left the Amish community years ago to live as an Englischer, but returns home for a visit. But the love they had for each other doesn’t seem to rekindle. Then a cousin of Peter’s decides to visit a while, and claims to have feelings for Emma. What will happen in this seemingly dysfunctional Amish family? Will Emma and Adam finally find the love they once had for each other, or will Peter swoon Emma away from her feelings for Adam?

Though I enjoyed this story, sometimes I felt lost as to where it was going. Clara’s character couldn’t figure out what she really wanted, and was clearly not following her husband as most Amish women do. In the end, the story all comes together and with the twists and turns, I was captured with the story and wanted to see what happened to who. I like the grossmammi! She was a very bright and wise woman, and had Peter figured out from the beginning, because she just didn’t trust him.

If you like Amish fiction, or if you want to give Amish books a try, this book is worth your read. I am looking forward to the next book in the series to see what happens next!

I received this book free from the Thomas Nelson through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 55.

Purchase book at Amazon

About Kathleen Fuller

Just the facts…I was born in New Orleans, Louisiana, grew up in Little Rock, Arkansas, and now make my home in beautiful Geneva, Ohio. I’ve been married to James for 15 wonderful years (really, they have been wonderful!)  We have three terrific children, three dogs, and an overwhelmed cat. We have also raised cattle, pigs, and chickens at various times over the years. We would have gone into the goat business, but I had to draw the line somewhere. I started writing in 2000, and published my first short story a year later. Since then I have authored several short stories, novellas, novels, and have done a lot of freelance non-fiction work. I have also worked as an editor. I have a Masters degree in Special Education, emphasis on teaching the blind and visually impaired, and a Bachelors in Early Childhood/Elementary Education. I have taught all age groups ranging from age 4 to age 18. A few of my favorite things: my relationship with Christ, chocolate (of course!), autumn, a satisfying book, good friends, a sense of humor, people who don’t take themselves seriously, haunting melodies, NFL football, and did I mention chocolate?

Leave a Reply

